top of page

Shattered


i am a broken piece of glass. but the Lord does’t let any of my shattered pieces be lost. He holds them. He changes them, melts them, molds them, colors them, and puts them back together in a new formation, but one that is still me. one that is more me.

i started as a square piece of glass . I got scratched + stained and finally shattered. I will finish as a new creation; a mosaic of beauty and color and life. I will finish as a mirror - reflecting my Savior and Creator who saw the broken glass as beautiful and full of potential, and made me wholley healed. made me new. made me a better me. until that day when the mirror is completed, i will rest in my shattered state, knowing i couldn’t be in better hands. knowing that i have not been lost, but i am being restructured. knowing that the pain i feel is not of death, but of refining flames, of unconditional love, of sacrafice. i will rest, here - shattered - because a shattered piece of glass cannot fix itself, but the maker of the glass can, and certainly will, fix it.

and even in the times that i question who i am and feel so confused, i am assured that i am not a different piece of glass, but that i am being constantly fixed. constantly altered to be what i was supposed to be originally. Part of who i am is being continually changed. i will rest knowing that change is who i am. i will rest knowing that the only parts of me that won’t change, that can’t change, are parts that i only have because of the Lord.

the fact that i am:

redeemed

loved

child of the King

forgiven

beautiful

adored

cherished

His

the only parts of my identity that won’t change are the only ones i should find my identity in. i find my identity in the Maker who is forming me to reflect Him. to reflect Him in the most beautiful way i can, which is:

real

authentic

genuine

and nothing more or less than who He is. because the truth is the most beautiful, meaningful, and fulfilling thing i could ever reflect; i could ever find my identity in. a shattered mirror or piece of glass isn’t incapable of reflecting, it’s just a work in progress. apart from Jesus, changing is who i am.


bottom of page